15 years of SEEPAG

On 12 of December 2003, in Belgrade/Republic of Serbia, was adopted the Declaration of the prosecutors representatives by which the Southeast European Prosecutors Advisory Group (SEEPAG) was created with the purpose to reinforce the fight against the serious forms of crime in South Eastern Europe. SEEPAG is functioning under SELEC auspices, having the same eleven Member States as SELEC, namely Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of Bulgaria, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Hellenic Republic, Hungary, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Republic of Serbia and Republic of Turkey.

The main functions of SEEPAG are to provide operational support and assistance to each other, to SELEC and to relevant law enforcement agencies in trans-border criminal investigations and prosecutions, and to provide advice, assistance, and guidance on criminal policy and legal issues related to law enforcement matters in the region. 

Over the years the prosecutorial cooperation in the framework of SEEPAG was continuously developed and enlarged, thus, besides the eleven Member States, the representatives of the General Prosecution Offices of SELEC partner states joined efforts in bringing swifter criminals to justice. 

“Acknowledging that cooperation between law enforcement and prosecutors in our region has to be further strengthened and improved, I am confident that we will further enhance the cooperation and continue to develop SEEPAG, with a view of ensuring the stability and security in Southeast Europe, by preventing and countering trans-border organized crime.” – Mrs. Snejana Maleeva, Director General of SELEC, affirmed on this special occasion.